About us

Artdoc.media is an archive of documentary films made in countries of the former USSR since the early 2000s. The catalogue is arranged according to the classic principle of film libraries: it contains a detailed database, descriptions, photos, trailers, screenings, selections and retrospectives.

For the most part, our collection contains films produced without state participation, which therefore have not been retained in archives. Many studios that produced these films no longer exist. Thus, Artdoc.media is the only collection where many of these films are preserved for viewers and for the future.

Online screenings

In 2007-13 Artdokfest was held in at the "Khudozhestevenny" film theatre in Moscow. This venue no longer exists in its original form, and we want to keep its memory alive. Our screenings are virtual online events which fully reproduce the principle of screening at a theatre. To see a film all you need is to purchase a ticket for a particular show on a particular date at a cinema of your choice. For each of our screenings there are 605 tickets available — which corresponds to the number of seats at “Khudozhestvenny”. Some screenings will be followed by online discussions with film directors and the audience. All films are in Russian (with subtitles, if necessary).

We will screen mostly new documentaries, many of which don't reach many cinemas in Russia and countries of the former Soviet Union. For most directors a screening on our website is the only way to defray at least in part the production costs and therefore continue to make films.

Film ratings

These rating are based on Artdocfest and The Laurel Leaf National Awards. Some films are also reviewed by Artdoc.Media curators

10
Winner, Grand Prix of Artdocfest and at major film festivals. These are documentary classics.
9
Winner, Artdocfest and The Laurel Leaf awardee.
8
Entry into Artdocfest “From A to A” competition and The Laurel Leaf shortlist
7
“Artdocfest Environment” program and The Laurel Leaf second round
6
Entry in the Artdocfest out-of-competition program.
5
Entry selected by an international film festival.
4
Entry selected for other film festivals
3
Laurel Leaf nominee (nominated by professionals)
2
Laurel Leaf nominee (nominated by the author)
1
Not reviewed

О проекте

АртдокМедиа — это архив документального кино, снятого в странах бывшего СССР с начала 2000-х годов. Каталог устроен по классическому принципу синематеки: база с информацией о фильмах, фотографиями, трейлерами, доступу к просмотру, подборками по темам и ретроспективами.

Большая часть нашей коллекции состоит из фильмов, которые сняты без государственного участия, а значит не находятся в архивах и фондовых хранилищах. Немало студий, производивших эти фильмы, прекратили своё существование. Поэтому для многих фильмов наш сайт является единственным местом, сохраняющим эти картины для зрителя и для истории.

Онлайн-киносеансы

С 2007 по 2013 годы Артдокфест проходил в московском кинотеатре «Художественный». Этого зала уже не существует в прежнем виде, и мы хотели бы сохранить о нём память. Киносеансы – это виртуальные онлайн-показы, которые полностью повторяют принцип кинотеатрального проката фильмов. Для просмотра нужно купить билет, выбрав день, время и место в зале. На каждый сеанс продаётся 605 билетов — ровно столько было в кинотеатра «Художественный». После просмотра мы часто проводим онлайн-обсуждения картины с её автором и другими зрителями. Все фильмы демонстрируются на русском языке с возможностью включения субтитров.

В репертуаре киносеансов, как правило, новые документальные фильмы, которые часто не доходят до большинства кинотеатров в городах России и в странах бывшего СССР. Для большинства авторов прокат их работ на нашем сайте — единственная возможность компенсировать часть затрат на производство фильма, а значит, и продолжить снимать кино.

Рейтинг фильмов

Рейтинг фильмов составлен по результатам работы Артдокфеста и Национальной премии «Лавр» («Лавровая ветвь»). Для части картин дополнительно используется экспертная оценка кураторов АртдокМедиа.

10
Гран-при Артдокфеста и главных мировых кинофестивалей. Классика документального кино.
9
Фильмы–призеры Артдокфеста и победители премии «Лавр».
8
Участники конкурса Артдокфеста, программы «от А до А» и финалисты премии «Лавр».
7
Программа «Среда Артдокфеста» и второй тур премии «Лавр».
6
Фильмы–участники внеконкурсных программ Артдокфест.
5
Фильмы–участники международных фестивалей.
4
Фильмы–участники других фестивалей в России.
3
Фильмы, которые были выдвинуты на премию «Лавр» профессиональными организациями.
2
Фильмы, которые были выдвинуты на премию «Лавр» их создателями.
1
Фильмы без экспертной оценки.